West Lancs logo

Service managers

Leisure and Wellbeing Services

Leisure Operations Manager: Steve Kent
Responsible for: all operational aspects of leisure services including parks and green spaces, playgrounds and playing fields, arts services and public events, sport and fitness.
Tel: 01695 585169
Email: stephen.kent@westlancs.gov.uk

Community Leisure Manager: Paula Campbell
Responsible for: council owned play areas and the implementation of new play facilities, and community engagement.
Tel: 01695 585144
Email: paula.campbell@westlancs.gov.uk

Arts Development Manager: Helen Juste
Responsible for: Arts Development Service including Chapel Gallery, working with key partners and organisations proving project support and grant funding advice to secure arts/cultural opportunities for West Lancashire
Tel: 01695 571306
Email: helen.juste@westlancs.gov.uk

Environmental Protection & Community Safety Manager: Andrew Hill
Responsible for: environmental protection, public health, emergency planning and community safety including noise, air and water pollution, enforcement work relating to litter, fly-tipping and dog fouling, community safety, anti-social behaviour, CCTV, emergency planning and business continuity.
Tel: 01695 585243
Email: a.hill@westlancs.gov.uk

Commercial, Safety and Licensing Manager: Paul Charlson
Responsible for: animal welfare, food safety, health and safety (commercial and corporate), licensing and pest control.
Tel: 01695 585246
Email: paul.charlson@westlancs.gov.uk

Home Care Link Control Room Manager: Cath Winter
Responsible for: Home Care Link's 24 Hour Control Centre including Life Line
Tel: 01695 585287
Email: cath.winter@westlancs.gov.uk

Homelessness and Private Sector Housing Manager: Laura Lea
Responsible for: homelessness, private rented property and tenancy issues, empty homes, property grants including disabled facilities grants, gypsy and traveller issues.
Tel: 01695 585196
Email: laura.lea@westlancs.gov.uk

Corporate Health and Safety Manager: Paul Adamson
Responsible for: corporate health and safety - staff and council buildings.
Tel: 01695 585241
Email: paul.adamson@westlancs.gov.uk

Housing and Inclusion

Housing Operations Manager: Leigh McFarlane
Responsible for: rent and money advice, estate management, financial inclusion, sheltered housing, housing options, choice based lettings.
Tel: 01695 585233
Email: leigh.mcfarlane@westlancs.gov.uk

Property Services Manager: Phil Holland
Responsible for: repairs and maintenance, procurement and tenders, health and safety such as gas servicing, caretakers, gardening services, management of council buildings and special projects.
Tel: 01695 585226
Email: phil.holland@westlancs.gov.uk

Rent Recovery and Money Advice Service Manager and Sheltered Housing Manager: Jane Maguire
Responsible for: rent and money advice services, financial inclusion and sheltered housing.
Tel: 01695 585003
Email: jane.maguire@westlancs.gov.uk

Housing Needs and Allocations Manager: Nicola Bradley
Responsible for: housing options, allocations, voids, furnished tenancies, estate management, recharges.
Tel: 01695 585296
Email: nicola.bradley@westlancs.gov.uk

Programmed Works Manager: Rick Hague
Responsible for: planned maintenance, cyclical maintenance (inc external redecoration and repairs), disabled adaptations, right to buy returns.
Tel: 01695 585183
Email: rick.hague@westlancs.gov.uk

Response Maintenance Manager: Sleem Riaz
Responsible for: day to day repairs and maintenance, gas servicing contractor management.
Tel: 01695 577177 Ext 5269
Email: sleem.riaz@westlancs.gov.uk


Support Services Manager: Steve Jones
Responsible for: support services including project management, tenant involvement, accounting, administration team, ICT, regulatory compliance.
Tel: 01695 585208
Email: steve.jones@westlancs.gov.uk

Consultation and Communications Manager: Edwina Leigh
Responsible for: corporate communications including media relations, corporate consultation, website, intranet and internal communications support
Tel: 01695 585011
Email: edwina.leigh@westlancs.gov.uk

Customer Services Manager: Helen Morrison
Responsible for:  the Customer Services Team, Customer Contact Centre and Customer Service Points in Ormskirk and Skelmersdale.
Tel: 01695 585091
Email: helen.morrison@westlancs.gov.uk

Partnership & Performance Officer: Alison Grimes
Responsible for: Corporate planning and performance
Tel: 01695 577177 ext. 5409
Email: alison.grimes@westlancs.gov.uk

Interim Benefits Manager: Ian Wright
Responsible for: Housing Benefits and Council Tax Support
Tel: 01695 587175
Email: ian.wright@BTLancashire.co.uk

Interim Revenues Manager: Estelle Dobson
Responsible for: Local Taxation, including Council Tax and Business Rates
Tel: 01695 587345
Email: estelle.dobson@BTLancashire.co.uk

Business Support and Development Manager: Julie Kelly
Responsible for: Sundry Debtors and Creditors
Tel: 01695 587297
Email: julie.kelly@BTLancashire.co.uk

Development and Regeneration Services

Heritage and Environment Manager: Ian Bond
Responsible for: planning issues relating to heritage, trees, landscaping, and design matters. War memorials, GIS mapping services and street naming and numbering.
Tel: 01695 585167
Email: ian.bond@westlancs.gov.uk

Head of Development Management: Catherine Thomas
Responsible for: processing planning and other related applications, providing pre-application planning advice, enforcement and appeals.
Tel: 01695 585134
Email: catherine.thomas@westlancs.gov.uk

Planning Support Team Leader: Andrew Leyland
Responsible for: providing technical and administrative support to the planning service teams and other services areas such as Land Charges. Also responsible for identifying the ICT business needs of the planning service and the programme of implementation.
Tel: 01695 585115
Email: andrew.leyland@westlancs.gov.uk

Strategic Planning and Implementation Manager: Peter Richards
Responsible for: the preparation of the Local Plan and other planning policy documents, liaison with other local authorities on strategic planning matters, the management of the Community Infrastructure Levy and the implementation of a range of infrastructure-related projects.
Tel: 01695 585046
Email: peter.richards@westlancs.gov.uk

Building Control Team Leader: Lol Aitchison
Responsible for: ensuring buildings are designed and constructed in accordance with building regulations and associated legislation. Also responsible for dangerous buildings and Notices of Demolition under Section 80 of the Building Act 1984.
Tel: 01695 585188
Email: lol.aitchison@westlancs.gov.uk

Technical Services Manager: Colin Brady
Responsible for: delivery of council municipal engineering function, Ormskirk market, parking and town centre management
Tel: 01695 585125
Email: colin.brady@westlancs.gov.uk

Estates and Valuation Manager: Rachel Kneale
Responsible for: management of the Council’s commercial properties and the valuation of the Council’s land and property estate
Tel: 01695 712611
Email: rachel.kneale@westlancs.gov.uk

Housing Strategy and Development Programme Manager: Jonathan Mitchell
Responsible for: government policy, developing housing strategies, securing grant funding for affordable and supported housing, undertaking housing need surveys, negotiating affordable housing with developers.
Tel: 01695 585244
Email: jonathan.mitchell@westlancs.gov.uk

Economic and Regeneration Manager: Paula Huber
Responsible for: taking a strategic lead role on economic development and regeneration initiatives, including project implementation, skills and employment and business support with a view to assisting employment growth and business development.
Tel: 01695 585359
Email: paula.huber@westlancs.gov.uk

Investment Centre Manager: Gillian Kinloch
Responsible for: West Lancashire Investment Centre
Tel: 01695 712601
Email: gillian.kinloch@westlancs.gov.uk

Street Scene Services

Operations Street Scene Manager: Garry Peter
Responsible for: a range of front line service functions including street cleansing, grounds maintenance, refuse and recycling.  Contractual management of a number of our external contractual partners.
Tel: 01695 577177 ext 5449
Email: garry.peter@westlancs.gov.uk

Fleet Maintenance Manager: Jimmy Cummins
Responsible for: ensuring compliance with the council’s statement of intent (Operator’s Licence).  Holder of the Operator’s Licence and main contact for all fleet and road transport regulatory bodies.  To maintain the availability of the Council’s vehicle, plant and equipment across all service areas.
Tel: 01695 577177 ext 5448
Email: jimmy.cummins@westlancs.gov.uk

Legal and Democratic Services

Legal and Member Services Manager: Matthew Jones
Responsible for: legal, member, civic, procurement and land charges functions.
Tel 01695 585025
Email: matthew.jones@westlancs.gov.uk

Assistant Member Services Manager: Jacky Denning
Responsible for: Member Services including member development and general support to members to assist them in efficiently discharging their roles in respect of decision making and civic functions.
Tel: 01695 585384
Email: jacky.denning@westlancs.gov.uk

Electoral and Administration Services Manager: Tom Lynan
Responsible for: the Register of Electors, all elections administered by the council, the post room and data protection and freedom of information compliance.
Tel: 01695 585013
Email: thomas.lynan@westlancs.gov.uk

Purchasing and Land Charges Manager: Steve Tinsley
Responsible for: the local search service, the purchase of goods and services for corporate contracts, civica purchasing and E tendering systems.
Tel: 01695 577177 ext 5426
Email: stephen.tinsley@westlancs.gov.uk

Finance and Human Resources Services

Audit Manager: Mike Coysh
Responsible for: planning the work of internal audit and ensuring it complies with legislation and auditing standards,  the main role of Internal Audit being to report to management on the effectiveness of arrangements in place to achieve the Council’s objectives.
Tel: 01695 712603
Email: mike.coysh@westlancs.gov.uk

Head of Human Resources and Organisational Development: Sharon Lewis
Responsible for: advice on workforce, payroll and pension (HR) matters, including contract management, and ensuring the availability of suitable learning and development opportunities for the workforce.
Tel: 01695 585027
Email: sharon.lewis@westlancs.gov.uk