West Lancs logo

Borough Elections 3 May 2018

On Thursday 3 May 2018, the electors of 18 wards will be given the opportunity to elect one new Councillor to represent them. 

The wards are:

  • Ashurst
  • Aughton Park
  • Aughton & Downholland
  • Burscough East
  • Burscough West
  • Derby
  • Hesketh-with-Becconsall
  • Knowsley
  • Moorside
  • Newburgh
  • North Meols
  • Parbold
  • Scarisbrick
  • Scott
  • Skelmersdale South
  • Tanhouse
  • Tarleton
  • Up Holland

Parish Elections

The parishes of Downholland, Great Altcar, Burscough, Lathom, Newburgh and Scarisbrick will also hold elections for new councillors.  If any of the parish elections are contested, the poll will be held on 3 May 2018.

Information for voters

Day of poll Thursday 3 May 2018

Deadline to register to vote 17 April

Deadline to apply to vote by post 5.00pm 18 April

Postal votes will be delivered around the 24-25 April

Deadline to apply to vote by proxy 5.00pm 25 April (non-emergency)

Information for candidates

Nomination period commences Monday 26 March and ends 4.00pm on Friday 6 April.

The counting of votes will be conducted overnight on 3 May going into 4 May.

For further information about standing as a candidate please email Susanne.malmgren@westlancs.gov.uk or tom.lynan@westlancs.gov.uk or alternatively call the Elections Office on 01695 585013. More information can also be found on our becoming a councillor page


This page will be updated regularly



Your West Lancashire

Information for where you live


Elections Office

Elections enquiry form


Tel: 01695 585014 or 585018

Fax: 01695 585050

Elections office
West Lancashire Borough Council
52 Derby Street
West Lancashire
L39 2DF