West Lancs logo

Lancashire County Council election

Elections were held on Thursday 4 May 2017 to elect Councillors to Lancashire County Council. 

Election results

Counting of votes took place on Friday 5 May 2017. To find out the results please visit election results.


For information on who is standing as a candidate and where your polling station, is please refer to the 'Notice of Poll for all divisions' document below.

There are 84 county councillors elected to cover all the electoral divisions in the 12 Lancashire district areas. In Lancashire there are two unitary authorities (Blackburn with Darwen, and Blackpool). Lancashire county councillors do not represent these areas.

Within West Lancashire Borough Council there are 8 electoral divisions represented by 8 elected members. Following an electoral review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 4 of the electoral division have new boundaries coming into effect at this election. Visit the Local Boundary Commission (external link) for more information.

For more information about the county elections visit Lancashire County Council (external link).

Official notices

Key dates for the 2017 election

Publication of Notice of Election 24 March
Nomination period starts 27 March
Deadline to submit nomination papers 4 April at 4.00pm
Publication of the Statements of Persons Nominated 5 April
Deadline to register to vote (for this election) 13 April

Deadline for the elections office to receive requests for a postal vote

(or to make changes to an existing postal vote)

18 April at 5.00pm
Postal votes will be delivered around 25 April

Deadline for the elections office to receive requests for a proxy vote

(non emergency)

25 April at 5.00pm

Deadline for the elections office to receive completed postal votes

(to be included in the Count)

4 May at 10.00pm
Election Day, polling stations are open 7.00am until 10.00pm 4 May


The postal votes are scheduled for Royal Mail First Class despatch around 23 April 2017. Please note that any postal vote requests received after 10 March 2017 are expected to be despatched around 25 April 2017.

If you have not received your postal vote pack by 27 April, you can contact the elections office for a replacement. Please phone 01695 585 014 or elections.office@westlancs.gov.uk