West Lancs logo

Parliamentary Election 8 June 2017

An election was held on Thursday 8 June 2017 for the West Lancashire Parliamentary Constituency. 

Candidate expenses

All election agents and candidates have submitted their election spending returns.  To find out more download Notice of Election expenses return (20KB)

Election Result

Counting of votes took place overnight from Thursday 8 June into Friday 9 June 2017. To find out the result please visit election results.


Parliamentary election 8 June 2017

Writ Delivery For 2017 Parliamentary Election For Website2

The Acting Returning Officer for West Lancashire Constituency is pictured right receiving the Writ from the Queen, noting the start of the election timetable for the Parliamentary election to be held on 8 June 2017.

The candidates are now confirmed and can be viewed on the Notice of Poll and Statement of Persons Nominated below.

West Lancashire Constituency

 South Ribble Constituency

West Lancashire Borough Council is divided between two parliamentary constituencies. Residents in the northern wards of the borough; Hesketh-with-Becconsall,  North Meols, Rufford and Tarleton are part of South Ribble constituency and will be voting for the MP for South Ribble.

Residents of the remaining 21 wards of West Lancashire Borough Council are part of West Lancashire constituency and will be voting for the MP for West Lancashire.

Please refer to the map for further information:

Map reference 2, 13, 14 and 15 (pink area) are the parts of the borough falling within South Ribble.

Information for voters

The polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm on Thursday 8 June.  You do not need to take your poll card with you in order to vote. If you do not know where your polling station is please go to www.wheredoivote.co.uk (external link)

  • Proxy vote application deadline: 31 May (5.00pm.)  Find more on proxy votes
  • Postal vote delivery expected from 27 May

An election to fill the current vacancy for Aughton Park ward will also be held on 8 June 2017. Electors in this ward may receive two ballot papers (if eligible to vote in both) at the polling station. Anyone voting by postal vote will receive two separate packs; one for the Parliamentary and one for Aughton Park.



Your West Lancashire

Information for where you live


Elections Office

Elections enquiry form


Tel: 01695 585014 or 585018

Fax: 01695 585050

Elections office
West Lancashire Borough Council
52 Derby Street
West Lancashire
L39 2DF