West Lancs logo

Borough Elections 3 May 2018

On Thursday 3 May 2018, the electors of 18 wards will be given the opportunity to elect one new Councillor to represent them. 

The wards are:

  • Ashurst
  • Aughton Park
  • Aughton & Downholland
  • Burscough East
  • Burscough West
  • Derby
  • Hesketh-with-Becconsall
  • Knowsley
  • Moorside
  • Newburgh
  • North Meols
  • Parbold
  • Scarisbrick
  • Scott
  • Skelmersdale South
  • Tanhouse
  • Tarleton
  • Up Holland 

The candidates are now confirmed Statement of Persons Nominated (PDF 85KB)

To access the Notice of Election Agents' Names and Addresses please click on this link, Notice of Election Agents' Names and Addresses (PDF 53KB)

To access the Notice of Election for the borough elections please click on this link, Notice of Election (PDF 19KB)

Parish Elections

All the parish elections were uncontested which means that all the validly nominated candidates are elected without contest.

To view the uncontested notices:


Information for voters

Day of poll Thursday 3 May 2018, polling stations are open 7am until 10pm

Deadline to register to vote 17 April 2018

Deadline to apply to vote by post 5.00pm 18 April 2018

Postal votes will be delivered around the 20-23 April 2018.  Please note that any postal vote applications received by us after 4 April may not be delivered until 24-25 April.

Deadline to apply to vote by proxy 5.00pm 25 April 2018 (non-emergency)

Your pollcard will have the details of your polling station.

Full FAQ (frequently asked question) are available under Related Information on the right of the screen.

Information for candidates

Thank you to those who attended our briefing sessions on 19 March. 


Nomination period commences Monday 26 March and ends 4.00pm on Friday 6 April.

To obtain a nomination pack or for further information about standing as a candidate please email Susanne.malmgren@westlancs.gov.uk or tom.lynan@westlancs.gov.uk or alternatively call the Elections Office on 01695 585013. More information can also be found on the Be A Councillor website as per link on under related information.

The Count

The counting of votes will be conducted after the polling stations close on Thursday 3 May. 

We will be verifying ballot papers and counting votes cast overnight into the early hours of Friday 4 May.  It is anticipated that the ward results will be available from 1.30am onwards.





This page will be updated regularly