West Lancs logo
Wednesday, April 09, 2014

Make sure you are registered to vote in the local and European elections on 22 May 2014

Residents of West Lancashire are being urged to make sure they are registered to vote in the Borough Council, Parish Council and European Parliamentary elections on Thursday 22 May 2014.
The deadline for submitting an application to register to vote is 5pm on Tuesday 6 May 2014. To check you are registered, contact the Elections Office on 01695 585014 or email elections.office@westlancs.gov.uk. Alternatively, you can download an application form from the About my vote website (external link).
The deadline for applying to vote by post is 5pm on Wednesday 7 May 2014.
The deadline for applying to vote by proxy is 5pm on Wednesday 14 May 2014. In cases of unforeseen illness or incapacity, or if people learn they cannot go to the polling station for work reasons, applications for a proxy vote may be made up until 5pm on Thursday 22 May 2014.
People who apply for a late proxy vote for work reasons must have proof from their employer that work duties prevent them from voting in person.
To apply for a postal vote or proxy vote contact the Elections Office on 01695 585014 or email elections.office@westlancs.gov.uk.
Gill Rowe, Returning Officer, said: “If you are not registered to vote, then you won’t be able to exercise your democratic right to have a say in the elections. So if you’ve recently moved into West Lancs, or changed your address, please check to make sure you’re on the Register of Electors. Also, if you can’t make it to the polling station on the day, or prefer to vote by post, then why not apply for a postal vote?
“There are also opportunities for people to stand as candidates in the elections. If you are interested, please contact the Council to find out more.”
For the Borough Council elections, will take place in the following wards: Ashurst; Aughton & Downholland; Aughton Park; Burscough East; Burscough West; Derby; Hesketh-with-Becconsall; Knowsley; Moorside; Newburgh, North Meols; Parbold; Skelmersdale South; Scarisbrick; Scott; Tanhouse; Tarleton; and Up Holland.
People living in West Lancashire can also vote in the European Parliamentary elections on the same day. The eight candidates who receive the most votes from electors across the North West will represent the region in the European Parliament.
Parish areas where there may also be elections, if the seats are to be contested, are: Downholland; Great Altcar; Burscough – St Johns; Burscough – Ellerbrook; Burscough – Red Cat; Burscough – Stanley; Burscough - Richmond; Burscough Town; Burscough – New Lane; Lathom; and Newburgh.
People interested in standing for election are invited to apply for nomination packs for the elections that will be held for the 18 Borough Council seats and 11 parish wards. Nomination packs are now available from the Elections Office. Completed forms can be submitted to the Elections Office during office hours until 4pm on Thursday 24 April 2014. 

Your West Lancashire

Information for where you live