West Lancs logo

West Lancashire Armed Forces Community Covenant

What is the West Lancashire Armed Forces Community Covenant?

The Armed Forces Community Covenant is a voluntary statement of mutual support between a civilian community and its local armed forces community. It's intended to complement the Armed Forces Covenant which outlines the moral obligations between the nation, the government and the armed forces at a local level.

The Community Covenant initiative is intended to help serving, transiting and veteran members of the armed forces, and their families, by raising awareness of their particular circumstances and needs among service providers and the civilian community, and taking action to improve services where appropriate.

We aim to encourage communities, charities, businesses, local government and health care providers to take part in the covenant to support all our armed forces living locally. This not only includes supporting personnel, but also their families and veterans, particularly where they have been injured or bereaved.  By doing this we recognise what our armed forces have done for us and continue to do on a daily basis.Cllr Devine

Armed Forces Champion: Councillor Terry Devine (pictured right)


His role is to improve access to services and support for serving and ex-service men and women.

 

 

 

Armed Forces Community Covenant Working Group

The working group has identified three priority areas which have become the main work strands, these are:-

  • Education, Skills and Employment
  • Health & Wellbeing
  • Families and Housing

Each of the organisations will look at what they are currently doing and what they can do for veterans in these priority areas.

West Lancashire Community Covenant

West Lancashire Borough Council adopted the West Lancashire Community Covenant at its meeting on 16 October 2013 and the signing ceremony was held on 14 November 2013.

 Armed Forces Covenant

The Mayor of West Lancashire Councillor Iain Ashcroft signs the covenant watched by John Chapman from the North West Reserve Forces and Cadets Association, West Lancashire Borough Council Managing Director (transformation) Kim Webber, Lieutenant Colonel Johnny Lighten, West Lancashire Borough Council leader Councillor Ian Grant, Commander Richard Jermy, and West Lancashire Borough Council Managing Director (People and Places) Gill Rowe.

Signatories to the West Lancashire Community Covenant

The following organisations have signed the Covenant.

Chamber of Commerce
Alan Welsh, 01772 706592       
alanw@lancschamber.co.uk

Job Centre DWP
Mark Langley
mark.langley1@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

Royal British Legion
Alison Bunn, 0333 011 4324
abunn@britishlegion.org.uk

Age Uk Lancashire
Christine Mottley, 07794 620 596
CMottley@ageuklancs.org.uk

Lancashire Care nhs
David Keddie, 01772 647168
david.keddie@lancashirecare.nhs.uk

Lancashire West CAB
Guy Simpson, 0344 245 1294
wl@cabnet.org.uk

Lancashire CCG
Phil Winnard
phil.winnard@westlancashireccg.nhs.uk

West Lancashire Borough Council
Chris Twomey
Deputy Director of Housing and Inclusions
Chris.twomey@westlancs.gov.uk

SSAFA
lancashire@ssafa.org.uk

West Lancs. ARK (Borough Wide)
Janice Monaghan
westlancsark@hotmail.co.uk

One West Lancashire (OWL)
Greg Mitten, 01695 733737
greg@wlcvs.org
Website: One West Lancashire (external link)

West Lancashire Community Leisure
01704 891285
mark.snaylam@serco.com
Website: West Lancashire Community Leisure (external link)

Edge Hill University
Roy Bayfield, 01695 575171
Bayfielr@edgehill.ac.uk
Website: Edge Hill University (external link)

West Lancashire College
Jane Hines, 01695 52316
Jane.hines@westlancs.ac.uk
Website: West Lancashire College (external link)

Parish Councils
Irene O’Donnell, 01695 732859
ireneod45@yahoo.co.uk

 

National Support

Ministry of Defence
Website: Ministry of Defence support for war veterans (external link)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Your West Lancashire

Information for where you live

Contact

Sue Griffiths

Principal Member Services Officer

susan.griffiths@westlancs.gov.uk

01695 585097

memberservices@westlancs.gov.uk