What are elections?

Elections are a democratic process where citizens aged 18 and over elect candidates to represent them and their interests locally, nationally or internationally. The process is determined by a voting system, where citizens vote for one candidate. The candidate with the majority of votes is elected. Anyone who is enrolled on the Electoral Register is able to vote. There are four different types of election:

1. Local government elections

Borough Council Elections

West Lancashire has 15 wards, 45 councillors and 21 Parish Councils. Councillors are elected by a simple majority and serve for four years. Council elections are held for three years in every four. Casual vacancies can sometimes occur due to factors such as retirement, illness or death. 

The most recent Borough Council Elections were held on 4 May 2023. For results visit the election results page.

Some parish councils also hold elections. On 4 May 2023 Wrightington Parish - Mossy Lea Ward was contested.

To make sure you’re registered to vote at elections visit our electoral register page or contact the elections office. Contact details are in the contact panel on the right of this page.

The next Borough Council elections will take place on Thursday 2 May 2024.

Lancashire County Council Elections

County Council elections are held every 4 years. The most recent County Council elections were held on Thursday 6 May 2021. To find out more about the results of these elections visit Lancashire County Council's (external link) website. The next County Council Elections will take place in May 2025.    

2. UK Parliamentary Elections

The West Lancashire borough is served by the West Lancashire Parliamentary Constituency.

The wards of North Meols and Hesketh Bank, Tarleton Village and 3 Polling Districts within Burscough Bridge & Rufford Ward together form part of the Constituency for South Ribble.

Each constituency returns one MP on a simple majority. A government serves for a maximum of five years before dissolving. However, the government may call a parliamentary (or 'general') election at any time during the five-year period. By-elections may occur due to factors such as retirement, illness or death.

A Parliamentary By-Election was held on Thursday 9 February 2023. To find out more about more about Parliamentary elections visit the Electoral Commission (external link).

3. Police and Crime Commissioner Elections  

The last Police and Crime Commissioner election took place on 6 May 2021 and the next election will be held on 2 May 2024.